10-30-10

LAKE/LOCATION: Lake Okeechobee (out of Clewiston)

WATER TEMP: 75-80

WATER COLOR & VISIBILITY: clean deep in the grass, however the mud is starting to bleed through in areas due to wind, the rim canal is still fairly muddy

 

 

WEATHER: post frontal, cool in the morning (mid 60’s) warming to the low 80’s, clear skies, and winds up to 20 NE

ESTIMATED CALENDER PERIOD: fall, pre-spawn

FISH BEHAVIOR: Yeah, that front went through.  The fishing slowed way down.  I may not have caught anything decent yesterday however I got a ton of bites.  Today, the fish stayed small and bites were tough to come by.  Right away in the morning I tried to beat the wind and run to that little area outside Uncle Joe’s Cut.  I got there and the wind had already picked up but I was able to fish it fairly thoroughly.  Tossed a Gambler Big EZ to all the same places I did yesterday and ended up with one bite I wasn’t even able to hook.

 

 

Left and ran down south to fish that flat I pushed into yesterday.  Same result.  Flipped some little mats at the entrance and took a 2.5lbs fish from an isolated mat of Penny Wort but then zeroed tossing swim jigs and the Big EZ on the flat.  The only bites I got on the flat came from  a couple of the little bedding “holes” I found tossing a weightless straight tail worm.  Yet, they were all small fish.  The water in there had become a bit muddier and the wind was a bit stronger than yesterday.

 

 

I spent too much time in there playing with dinks and moved out to flip a bit more in the cut that runs on the inside of the rim canal focusing on the line of Penny Wort – caught some small fish mostly holding the bait against the top of the matt (which has become a fairly consistent bite of late) but no decent bites.

 

 

I ran a bunch of new water at that point and tossed some baits but everything, although it’s opened up quite a bit due to spraying and the hydrilla dying back, seems too shallow or just doesn’t look right.  Hit a schoolie shoal briefly and saw a guide pulling a ton of dinks and a couple 2-3lbs fish around the corner from the shoal on shiners; but I didn’t even see suspended fish on my graph on the shoal.

 

 

 

I closed up the day hitting a little opening of hyacinth mats stuck in some cane I stumbled on late in the summer when I first came down.  I had never taken a fish out of there but it looks good with 4-5’ of water under the isolated mats and a bit of stain in the water.  I ended up taking a 4.5lbs fish pumping the bait under some dying hyacinth and then 2 dinks off another matt.  I flipped quite a few mats in between but it seemed like there were a couple choice mats that held a few fish and that was it.

 

 

Overall it was slow, but frankly I was expecting that due to my experience during the past few fronts that have gone thru.  A tried and true bite when this does happen though seems to be flipping mats and and holding the bait agains the “ceiling” of the mat and just waiting for a bite.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under October, 2010, Okeechobee

Leave a comment